SLAC Today is available online at:
In this issue:
Perl and Hodgson Elected 2006 AAAS Fellows
Dorfan Today: Competing DOE Laboratory Contracts
Colloquium Monday: High Performance Neural Prostheses
Safety Firsts

SLAC Today

Monday - November 27, 2006

Perl and Hodgson Elected 2006 AAAS Fellows

(Image - Keith Hodgson and Martin Perl)
Keith Hodgson and Martin Perl

Ten Stanford professors—and two SLAC faculty—are among the 449 newly elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest organization of scientists.

SLAC's Martin Perl and Keith Hodgson will join Stanford's Steven Block, Henry Greely, Chaitan Khosla, Joseph Lipsick, William Mobley, Shauna Somerville, Teresa Wang and Jeffrey Wine when they are presented with certificates and pins on Feb. 17, during the AAAS annual meeting in San Francisco. The scientists were chosen "because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished," according to a statement by the AAAS Office of Public Programs in Washington, D.C.

Keith O. Hodgson, the Howard H. and Jessie T. Watkins University Professor of the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory and Chemistry and the deputy director of SLAC, was chosen for applications of synchrotron radiation spectroscopy, diffraction and scattering to study structure and function relations in bioinorganic chemistry and biophysics, in particular nitrogenase.

Martin L. Perl, emeritus professor at SLAC, was awarded for his fundamental contributions to particle physics, including the discovery of a new generation of leptons which earned him the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1995.

Click here to learn more about the other eight scholars.

(Director's Column - Dorfan Today)

Competing DOE Laboratory Contracts

Some of you may have read the November 17th press release in which the Department of Energy (DOE) announced plans for competing the contracts of another three of its National Laboratories, including SLAC. You may also have seen the article in the SF Chronicle on November 18th specifically discussing the SLAC contract renewal. The choice to compete our contract did not come as a surprise and Stanford has been taking active steps to prepare for this eventuality.

In the past few years, strongly urged by Congress, the DOE has been competing all contract renewals for its laboratories. As stated in the DOE press release: "These competitions are part of DOE's policy to compete M&O [Management and Operating] contracts for DOE National Laboratories to ensure the greatest possible benefit to the Department of Energy and the American taxpayers." Even in a situation where the incumbent contractor is anticipated to be the sole competitor, as was the case recently with Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Fermilab, competing the contract requires the incumbent to examine its management practices to ensure that they represent an effective and responsible expenditure of federal dollars.

Following authorization by Congress in September 1961, the Stanford Trustees entered into an agreement with the Federal Government that founded SLAC. Free of any rental fee, 426 acres of Stanford land were leased to the government for fifty years. And without charging an operating fee, Stanford set up the first contract to manage and operate SLAC. Read more...

Colloquium Monday


(Photo - Brain)
Image courtesy of the NIH.

Today's colloquium, High Performance Neural Prostheses, has been cancelled as the speaker, Krishna Shenoy, is out sick. The talk will be rescheduled for sometime in December; please check SLAC Today for more details as they become available.

Safety Firsts

A company named Kepner-Tregoe did an intensive study of the most effective problem solvers in the case where a process is running well and then the results suddenly become unacceptable. Can you guess the number one technique used by these problem solvers?

Events s (see all | submit)

Access (see all)

(see all | submit)

 Lab Announcements

Community Bulletin Board

News (see all | submit)

dividing line
(Office of Science/U.S. DOE Logo)

View online at