SLAC Today logo

SLAC Shines at 2008 DOE Golf Challenge

Tanya Boysen, Phil Cutino, Mike Racine, Bob Strohecker and Jess Albino were among 12 SLAC golfers at the 2008 DOE Golf Challenge. (Photo by Shawne Workman. Click for larger image.)

SLAC golfers took on a challenging course to win six team and three individual prizes at the 21st Annual Department of Energy Golf Challenge Monday at Callippe Preserve in Pleasanton. The tournament pairs a two-person team from each of the five participating laboratories with a two-person team from another lab. The players compete in four events: individual low net score, two-person best ball, four-person best ball and closest to the pin on par three holes.

Tanya Boysen led the SLAC team by taking first place in her flight with a net score of 65. She also won second place in the two-person best ball with teammate Phil Cutino. Boysen and Cutino joined with Gil Wong and Frank Balgos from Lawrence Livermore lab to win first place in the four-person best ball competition.

The 2008 DOE Golf Challenge at Calippe Preserve Golf Course. (Photo courtesy of Mike Hogaboom. Click for larger image.)

Bob Strohecker won closest to pin at the 137 yard 13th hole with a great shot landing 3 foot 7 inches away—the closest to any par three pin all day. Jess Albino also won closest to the pin with a shot landing 20 feet 11 inches from the 175 yard 16th pin. As a team, Strohecker and Albino took second place in the four-person competition with their teammates Hemant Patel and Barry Savnik from the Department of Energy team. Other SLAC team members included Mike Racine and Ray Wallace—who placed third in both the two- and four-person best ball competitions—as well as Roger Cottrell, Mike Hogaboom, John Schmerge, Ed Guerra, Ben Smith and Ron Rogers.

The perpetual trophy went to Sandia National Laboratory with a team net average of 74.4. Next September, the National Security Technologies team will host the tournament. Look for announcements next year.

—Phil Cutino
SLAC Today, September 10, 2008